IMEA Recognition Awards





Annually, the Indiana Music Education Association recognizes individuals whose work has made a positive impact in music education in Indiana.  Honorees are recognized at the IMEA Professional Development Conference.

Nominations are accepted between August 1 and September 25 of each year. Individuals who wish to nominate a candidate must complete the form (use the link on this webpage) and submit it by the September 25 deadline. Please check the lists of prior winners (below) and refrain from nominating a candidate for any award that he/she has received in the past. 

Award categories include:

Outstanding Indiana Music Educator

The Outstanding Indiana Music Educator Award recognizes educators in each of the four following areas: Elementary; Middle School / Junior High; High School; and College / University. These awards will be presented to IMEA members who have exemplified outstanding achievement in the field of music education. Factors that will be considered when selecting the award winners will include a record of excellence over multiple years of teaching and contributions to students as well as the music education profession.

Outstanding Administrator

The Outstanding Administrator Award gives recognition to an individual who has contributed and supported the advancement of music education in his/her local school corporation(s) through his/her leadership.  Membership in IMEA is not required for this award.

Outstanding Hoosier Musician

The Outstanding Hoosier Musician Award is designed to give recognition to an individual who has contributed to the advancement of music education in the state of Indiana, and who has contributed outstanding service to local, state, and national music organizations.  Membership in IMEA is not required for this award.

Past IMEA Award Winners


Joshua Southard, Elementary Outstanding Educator

Christina Huffington Post, MS Outstanding Educator

Joshua Weirich, MS Outstanding Educator

Bonnie Harmon, HS Outstanding Educator 

Dr. Brenda Clark, Collegiate Outstanding Educator

Phyllis Lewis, Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Shawn Smith, Administrator of the Year

Michael (Mick) Bridgewater, Hoosier Musician 



Lisa Zorn, Elementary Outstanding Educator

Matt Harrod, JH/MS Outstanding Educator

Bill Laughlin & Glenn Northern, Outstanding HS Educators

Jay S. Gephart, Collegiate Outstanding Educator

Todd Hawks, Administrator of the Year

Stephen Pratt, Hoosier Musician 



Lisa Sullivan, Elementary Outstanding Educator

Candi Granlund, JH/MS Outstanding Educator

Aaron Riegle, Outstanding HS Educator

Jay S. Gephart, Collegiate Outstanding Educator

Dr. Robert Kvam, Administrator of the Year

Richard Saucedo, Hoosier Musician

For a PDF listing previous winners, click below:

IMEA Awards Past Winners


Related Documents