Hoosier Student is Finalist for San Francisco Contemporary Music Players 'Compose Yourself' Competition

San Francisco Contemporary Music Players (SFCMP) has announced the 6 finalists and open voting for the brand-new Compose Yourself high school composer competition. One of the finalists, Gabriel Hawes, was also a winner of the IMEA Composition Competition.  

The listening tracks and voting portal can be accessed here: http://cy2014.questionpro.com.

This program is unique in that six works were first selected by a jury of professional composers, and finalist works will be ranked by a public vote, conducted online.

The jury-selected finalists will be featured in a performance during SFCMP’s Spring 2014 Sweet Thunder Festival of Electro-Acoustic Music, along with performances a four-day festival featuring many leading new music proponents including Morton Subotnick, the International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE), red fish blue fish, the JACK Quartet, and others. SFCMP will perform the finalists’ works in a special awards ceremony/concert on April 27, 2014, with an opportunity for the first three prize-winners to take home cash prizes.

Larry Polansky, Deke Sharon, Elinor Armer and Cynthia Mei reviewed and selected the six finalists’ works.  Larry Polansky is a heralded composer, theorist, performer, editor, writer and teacher. Currently a professor of composition at UC Santa Cruz, he was the longtime Strauss Professor of Music at Dartmouth College, and also on the faculty of Bard College. Deke Sharon is an accomplished performer, arranger, and producer. Trained with an opera background as a young child, he currently produces “The Sing-Off,” and served as arranger, on-site music director and vocal producer for Universal’s “Pitch Perfect” starring Anna Kendrick.

Elinor Armer has been associated with the San Francisco Conservatory of Music since 1969. In 1985 she established the Composition Department and served as chair for eleven years. Cynthia Mei is a veteran of the new music scene in the Bay Area, as founder and director of the Adorno Ensemble. Cynthia currently manages community relations, fund-raising, and music education for San Francisco Classical Voice.


 “Ashore” by Rachel Hawley, Wayland, Massachusetts

 “Cognitive Dissonance” by Aire Van Der Ven, Toronto, Canada

 “Let Me Sink” by Gabriel Hawes, Sheridan, Indiana

 “Memory Yields” by Milo Talwani, Los Angeles, California

 “Four Elements” by Chung Hon Michael Cheng, Sugar Land, Texas

 “Story of Babylon” by Sunghyun Lee, Suji Yongin City, South Korea

 VOTING OPEN: February 24-March 10, 2014

 AWARDS: Six finalists were chosen by the jury; of these, the first-, second- and third-place winners will be determined the vote, which is open to the public.


*Post was adapted from a press release produced by the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players.