2016 Composition Competition Honorees Announced

IMEA Announces 2016 Composition Competition Honorees

The Indiana Music Education Association is pleased to recognize the 2016 IMEA Composition Competition Honorees. These students, from Indiana Middle and High Schools throughout Indiana, submitted compositions of both original works or arrangements of existing works to a panel of judges who over the summer reviewed and scored the entries.

The recognized composers reflect high scores in their respective categories as well as an overall recognition from the judges of a high level of work for their age level in composition.

Honorees of the 2016 Composition Competition will be recognized on Saturday January 14th at the Indiana Music Education Association Professional Development Conference in Fort Wayne at the Embassy Theatre.

2016 Composition Competition Winners

Matt Wietstock (Concord Community High School), Jupiter: The Bringer of Jollity

Concert Band/Wind Ensemble
Alex Hatton (Floyd Central High School), Enigma’s Edge

Instrumental Solo
Walker Humphrey (Pendleton Heights High School), Dance of the Moon-Cats
Alexander Toms (Greenwood Community High School), Howling Gale

Chamber Instrumental
Benjamin Shively (West Lafayette High School), The Lake

Orchestra (string)
Nathan Berkey (Goshen High School), The Magistrate’s Arrival

Orchestra (full)

Benjamin Shively (West Lafayette High School), Concert Overture No. 1

Vocal Solo
Alex Hatton (Floyd Central High School), When I Think of You


Joshua Schrock (Goshen Middle School), Theme from Fallout 4

Chamber Music
Sam Stoltzfus (Goshen Middle School), Battle Shore
Anna Kragness (New Augusta Public Academy North), The Yankees

String Orchestra
Daniel Elizalde (Goshen Middle School), Pluckish Disphoria